Tag Archives: winners

Manchester United Premiership Champions! And the link between La Liga

Manchester United won the English league title for the second year in a row and the 17th time overall, defeating Wigan, 2-0, Sunday on the last day of the season, but it was Ryan Giggs who perhaps achieved the greater feat.

The former Wales winger appeared in his 758th game for Manchester United, tying the record set by Bobby Charlton four decades ago. Giggs can break the record if he plays in United’s May 21 European Champions League final against Chelsea in Moscow.

The 34-year-old has been a part of each of United’s 10 league championships under Coach Alex Ferguson and also has seven more winner’s medals from other tournaments.

Cristiano Ronaldo scored United’s first goal, his 41st of the season in all competitions, and Giggs added another goal after coming in as a second-half substitute. Continue reading Manchester United Premiership Champions! And the link between La Liga


Real Madrid Win 30th Title in Heart Stopping Finale

Real Madrid ended their four-year trophy drought when they won the league title for the 30th time after a dramatic 3-1 comeback victory over Real Mallorca at the Bernabeu last night.

Substitute Jose Antonio Reyes was Real’s hero, equalising a minute after coming on in the second half and putting the icing on the cake with a spectacular third seven minutes from time.

The nine-times European champions topped the final standings by virtue of a better head-to-head record against arch-rivals Barcelona, whose 5-1 victory at already relegated Gimnastic Tarragona was to no avail.

The match marked the final appearances of David Beckham and Roberto Carlos, who signed off with a championship medal in front of 76,000 adoring fans at the Bernabeu.

Source: The Times & The Sunday Times, Malta

Coincidently, the last time Real Madrid won La Liga was when Manchester United last (before this year) won the Premier League, in 2003.

Manchester United: 2006/07 Premiership Champions

Manchester United have clinched their first Premiership title since 2003 following Chelsea’s 1-1 draw against Arsenal at the Emirates Stadium.

The result means United are seven points clear at the top of the table with just two games left to play.

Gilberto put Arsenal ahead from the penalty spot but Michael Essien equalised for 10-man Chelsea.

United’s success means boss Sir Alex Ferguson has won the Premiership nine times during his 21-year reign.

View: MANUTD.COM | BBC Sport